When will the award ceremony take place?

The award ceremony will take place in March 2017. All attendees will receive a personal invitation.

When will the laureates be announced?

The laureates will be announced mid-January 2017.

What is the deadline for the submission of nominations?

The completed nomination forms must be received before 16 September 2016.

Who can I contact if I have questions?

You can contact us via

Where can I find the regulations?

Click here for the regulations.

Where can I find the nomination form?

Click here for the nomination form.

Who can nominate researchers for the Award?

Researchers can be nominated for the Ammodo KNAW Award in 2017 by:

  • executive boards of all Dutch universities,
  • faculty deans of all Dutch universities,
  • directors of Dutch research institutes,
  • at least three members of the KNAW and/or the Young KNAW acting together,
  • the board of the National Network of Female Professors.

How many researchers will receive the Award?

A maximum of two researchers from each discipline will receive an Award. A total of eight prizes are awarded.

How often does the presentation of the Ammodo KNAW Award take place?

The Ammodo KNAW Awards are biennial. The next round will take place in 2017.

How does the decision making process work?

For each discipline an advisory committee of five eminent professors will assess the nominations. Each of the advisory committees will then put forward two promising researchers in each of the relevant disciplines to the board of Ammodo, which will make its choice of laureates after consultation with the board of the KNAW.

Why researchers within fifteen years after receiving their PhD?

Innovation in science begins with internationally recognised scientists who are able to explore new subject areas and are driven by curiosity. Through the Ammodo KNAW Award we want to provide researchers with the opportunity to develop their own insights and ideas, and thereby break new ground. We have explicitly chosen to finance mid-career scientists. We hope that the Ammodo KNAW Award will be an incentive for the development of the talents and the furtherance of the scientific careers of researchers.

Which subject areas are eligible for the Ammodo KNAW Award?

The Ammodo KNAW Award encourages fundamental science in the widest sense: from humanities and social sciences to biomedical and natural sciences.

Why fundamental science?

Ammodo attaches great importance to unfettered fundamental scientific research: the freedom to search for new knowledge and understanding, without the limitation of having to focus on finding solutions or practical applications is absolutely essential when pushing boundaries and achieving groundbreaking new insights. The KNAW shares this view and, moreover, pointed out in its report entitled “Space for independent research” (2015) that the (financial) scope for independent fundamental research has fallen sharply over the past decade. The TWIN-figures (2016) and the Rathenau report “Chinese dishes” (2016) confirm this finding.

What is the Ammodo KNAW Award?

The Ammodo KNAW Award consists of eight sums of money, each of 300,000 euros. The recipients can spend this amount at their discretion to fund either their own research or a research project into fundamental scientific issues which they are leading.

Who is the Ammodo KNAW Award intended for?

The target group for the Ammodo KNAW Award is internationally recognised.

Why are Ammodo and the KNAW making this award together?

Ammodo promotes innovation in the arts and sciences. In particular it wants to enable internationally recognised researchers to conduct unfettered fundamental scientific research and has therefore approached the KNAW. For the KNAW, the Ammodo KNAW Award is a very welcome addition to the existing corpus of scholarships and prizes.