Candidates who qualify for the Ammodo KNAW Award are internationally recognized scientists with an appointment at a Dutch university or a Dutch research institute. They were awarded their PhD in or after 2002, and they clearly have the potential to explore new avenues in fundamental scientific research.


Researchers can be nominated for the Ammodo KNAW Award by:

  • executive boards of all Dutch universities
  • faculty deans of all Dutch universities
  • directors of Dutch research institutes
  • at least three members of the KNAW and/or the Young KNAW acting together
  • the board of the National Network of Female Professors

The deadline for submissions is 15 September 2016, 24:00.

To the nomination form


An advisory committee has been appointed for each area of research. The advisory committees will evaluate the nominations on the basis of the criteria set out in the Regulations for the Ammodo KNAW Award. Each advisory committee will put forward a maximum of two candidates for the relevant field. The board of Ammodo will announce the winners of the Ammodo KNAW Award 2017 after consultation with the board of the KNAW.

Membership of the advisory committees in 2017

Award Ceremony

The next nomination round will start in June 2016. The award ceremony will take place on the 29th of March 2017.

The Laureates

Subject Areas

Biomedical Sciences

Biochemistry, Biomedical and Medical Sciences


History, Philosophy, Theology, Language and Literature Studies

Natural Sciences

Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, Mathematics, Earth Sciences and Technical Sciences

Social Sciences

Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences and Law